About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

3/1/2020 - Jackson, Miss.

The Legislature established the Higher Education Appreciation Day, Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) Program by resolution in 1988 as a way to thank students and faculty members for their commitment to the future of Mississippi.

WHO: Outstanding students and faculty members from 34 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges
WHAT: Receive special recognition from the Mississippi Legislature
WHEN: Monday, March 2, 2020 - 2:00 p.m.
WHERE: Room 216, State Capitol
SPEAKERS: Lieutenant Governor Delbert Hosemann
Holly Spivey, Education Policy Advisor for Governor Tate Reeves
Senator Rita Parks, Chair, Senate Universities & Colleges Committee
Representative Mac Huddleston, Chair, House of Representatives
Universities & Colleges Committee
Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr., Commissioner of Higher Education
Dr. Andrea Mayfield, Executive Director, Mississippi Community College Board

# # #

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive