## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF STATE INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER LEARNING October 29, 2015

**BE IT REMEMBERED**, That the Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning of the State of Mississippi met in a special called meeting in Salon A of The Inn at Ole Miss in Oxford, Mississippi, at 2:30 p.m. At the above-named place there were present the following members to wit: Mrs. Karen L. Cummins (by phone), Dr. Ford Dye, Mr. Tom Duff, Mr. Shane Hooper, Dr. Alfred E. McNair, Jr., Mr. Chip Morgan, Mr. Hal Parker (by phone), Mr. Alan Perry, Ms. Christine Pickering (by phone), Dr. Douglas Rouse, Mr. C.D. Smith and Dr. J. Walt Starr. The meeting was called to order by Mr. Alan Perry, President.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

On motion by Trustee Hooper, seconded by Trustee Dye, with Trustee Parker absent and not voting, and Trustees Cummins and Pickering participating by phone, all Trustees legally present and participating voted unanimously to close the meeting to determine whether or not is should declare an Executive Session. On motion by Trustee Rouse, seconded by Trustee McNair, with Trustees Cummins, Parker, and Pickering participating by phone, all Trustees legally present and participating voted unanimously to go into Executive Session for the reason reported to the public and stated in these minutes, as follows:

Discussion of personnel matter at the University of Mississippi.

**During Executive Session, the following matter was discussed and voted upon:** 

Trustee Dye made a motion that Dr. Jeffrey S. Vitter be hired as Chancellor of the University of Mississippi and given a four-year contract with a state base salary of \$300,000 and a foundation salary supplement of \$300,000, totaling \$600,000, that Board Policy 801.16 Foundation Supplementation of Institutional Executive Officers' Compensation be waived to the extent that it requires that an institutional executive officer's foundation salary supplement be less than the state salary, that Board Policy 403.03 Tenure of Institutional Executive Officers be waived in order that Dr. Vitter be granted tenure by this Board as a full professor in the Department of Computer and Information Science at the University of Mississippi effective as of the start date of his employment contract, and that Commissioner Boyce be authorized to negotiate a start date and a reasonable cap on the reimbursement of actual moving expenses to be inserted into the employment contract. The motion was seconded by Trustee McNair. With Trustee Parker absent and not voting and Trustees Cummins and Pickering participating by phone, all Trustees legally present and participating voted unanimously to approve this motion. Note: Trustee Parker was not able to continue participating in the meeting and had to disconnect prior to the vote on this motion. However, he expressed that he would have voted in favor of the above motion.

On motion by Trustee Starr, seconded by Trustee McNair, with Trustees Cummins, Parker, and Pickering absent and not voting, all Trustees legally present and participating voted unanimously to return to Open Session.

## MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF STATE INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER LEARNING October 29, 2015

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the Board, on motion by Trustee Starr, seconded by Trustee McNair, with Trustees Cummins, Parker, and Pickering absent and not voting all Trustees legally present and participating voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

President, Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning

SLF By W

Commissioner, Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning